Basil Simple Syrup

Even though I made a boat load of pesto and have been eating caprese salads several photo-1times per week, I still have basil coming out of my ears.  I hate to waste any food, especially food I grew myself, so I have been searching for new things to try using basil.

When a neighbor came down and asked to use some basil, naturally, I was curious what she was using it for.  What she said blew my mind.  Basil simply syrup for watermelon cocktails!  Being that it’s a holiday weekend, that sounded like a perfect way to use some of my basil.

This took only 10 minutes to make and tastes lovely!  It’s obviously sweet with the sugar, but if you didn’t know it was basil, you’d have that “what do I taste?” thought.  While I haven’t tried it in a drink yet (it is only 11am), I am excited to give it a whirl when guests arrive.  I’ll likely add it to a vodka soda with lime, or even in a watermelon margarita.  It would also be yummy drizzled over some fresh fruit or over vanilla ice cream.  Enjoy!

What you need: 

  • 1 Cup Water
  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Cup loose packed basil

What you do:

  • Heat ingredients over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until sugar has dissolved.
    photo-2
  • Remove from heat, and allow to steep for about 15 minutes.
  • Strain syrup.
  •  for about a week in the refrigerator, stored in an airtight container.
Leave a Reply

