Ooohhh yeah, Crispy Spring Rolls

I grew up having home cooked meals and scheduled dinner time each night, it was awesome.  We had a lot of meat and potatoes, crock pot dishes, tacos, soups and pasta.  You can likely tell I am most comfortable cooking those types of meals from my previous posts.  When it comes to cooking Asian food, I am way out of my element.  Fish sauce, oyster sauce and mungbean noodles sound more like something out of a science fiction movie than something I would have in my cupboard.  With that said, I will absolutely house Asian food if put in front of me.  Pad Thai, cream cheese wonton and egg rolls are absolute heaven and I’m willing to pay a lot of money for them since I can’t make them at home.

When a friend approached me about taking a cooking class at the Kitchen Window called “Authentic Thai Appetizers”, I was in.  Whatever I could do to learn more about how to cook this type of cuisine was awesome.

The venue at the Kitchen Window is incredible and I would recommend it to anyone.  The class seemed a little spendy at $65 but we got hands on cooking experience and we got to eat it too.  We made Gai Satay, Cucumber Salad, Som Miang Kam, Neaua Daet Deow, Khao Neow and Nam Pla Prik.  Or in words that I understand: Chicken Satay with Peanut Sauce; cucumber Salad; Crispy Spring Rolls; Ginger, Lime and Toasted Coconut Finger Salads with Sweet Shrimp Sauce and Sweet Crispy Beef with Coriander Seeds and stick rice.  It was AWESOME!

The class was presented by Joe Hatch-Surisook who is co-owner and Chef of sen yai sen lek out of Minneapolis.  And, drum roll please…we got the recipes!!!

My favorite was the crispy spring rolls and I actually followed through and made these for a party I went to.  They were a total hit, I mean like RAVE reviews 🙂

They are super time-consuming but if you are just sitting around watching TV or doing nothing, why not sit around and make something delish.  It made about 30 rolls and the chef did say you could freeze them.  I think next time I will make a batch and freeze them in portions for my husband and I!

Go ahead…give them a go 🙂

What you need for Filling:

  • 1/2 lb ground pork
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cabbage
  • 6 oz dried mungbean noodles, soaked in warm water until soft.  Drain and cut into 2-3 inch lengths (I just used a kitchen shears and started chopping at them in the bowl)
  • 2 eggs
  • 7-8 dried ear mushrooms, soaked in hot water until soft.  Drain and chop. (I omitted this item because I couldn’t find it.  I couldn’t even tell I didn’t add them in)
  • 2-3 teaspoons black pepper
  • 2-3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 7-8 garlic gloves, chopped

Other things you need:

  • 1 package spring roll wrappers
  • Canola Oil for frying
  • 1 egg beaten for sealing rolls

What you do:

  • Combine all he filling ingredients except garlic and mix well (use your clean hands, way easier!)
    photophoto-3
  • In a skillet, heat 1/4 cup oil over medium-high heat and stir fry garlic for 10 seconds
  • Add filling mixture and continue to stir fry until noodle and vegetables are fairly dry (you might need to do this in 2 batches if you don’t have a large enough pan).  Remove from heat and let cool.
  • Organize yourself by laying out filling, beaten egg, spring roll wrappers and a container to put them in.
    photo
  • To roll the spring rolls: Place a spring roll sheet in front of you with a corner pointed toward you.  Place about 2 tablespoons of filling in the middle of the sheet.  Pull the bottom of the sheet up over the filling and tuck it under slightly.  Fold the sides toward the middle and tightly roll the spring roll away from you.  Moisten the edges with the egg and seal.  Set the finished roll aside in a pan seam side down.  Continue rolling until mixture and wrappers are finished.
  • To fry the spring rolls: Fill a deep pot of skillet with about 3 inches of oil and heat over high heat until oil reaches 375.  Fry the spring rolls in small batches until golden brown.  Remove and drain on a paper towel and serve with sweet chili sauce.
     photo-7

What you need for the Sweet Chili Sauce: 
photo-4

  • 1/2 cup white vinegar
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons garlic chili sauce

What you do:

  • Bring ingredients to a boil.  Reduce heat.  Allow to simmer 5-10 minutes.  Remove from heat.

P.S: This is what my husband thought about the Crispy Spring Rolls.  He says he reads my blog and he also says I can’t use pictures of him.  Especially pictures of him in the Carhartt gear at the cabin.  TESTING TESTING: Honey, if you read this blog I’ll take your picture down 🙂  Love you!

One thought on “Ooohhh yeah, Crispy Spring Rolls

Leave a Reply

