I <3 #yumPower!

Wait, you don’t know what yumPower is?  Let me tell you, I’m obsessed with this campaign!  I have heard yumPower explained as the next big social movement intended to help promote a healthy lifestyle through what you eat!  You know, like anti-smoking, click it or ticket, etc.  The thing about healthy eating is that it doesn’t have to be bland and boring.  Believe it or not, healthy eating is tasty and can be quick and easy once you get into the groove!

Cooking healthy is a passion of mine and I am always looking for new ways to make what I love in healthier ways.  Now I know what you are thinking, ‘Melissa, your blog has all sorts of NON-healthy food items.  How can you claim to be all obsessed with health eating?’  Let me explain.

What you likely don’t know is that Monday – Friday, I am a healthy eating phene.  My husband and I pack breakfast, lunch and snack each day and I cook a healthy dinner.  There is an extreme rare occasion we eat these meals out during the week (I’m talking maybe 1 time/month IF THAT!).  Packing your own food during the week allows you to control your portions and save a ton of money.  For breakfast, we do a yogurt parfait (Vanilla Yogurt, Fresh/Frozen Fruit and Granola), breakfast smoothies or my new obsession, hot quinoa with fruit and nuts.  For lunch, keep it simple with a sandwich, salad or dinner leftovers and a piece of fruit and string cheese.  We avoid the sugar sweets, soda and treats during the week.  By doing that, we afford ourselves the opportunity to eat what we want on the weekends.

So, why did I choose this week to start talking about yumPower?  Because I got to do a couple really awesome things this past week;

  1. yumPower Cooking Class: I went to a yumPower cooking class, Family meals in minutes!  While I don’t have children, I was excited to go to this class.  I’ll admit, since I cook all the time, I wasn’t sure how much I’d learn.  But, the class was incredible and I can’t say enough about it.  We watch live cooking demo’s, sampled three amazing dishes and heard incredible tips from a Registered Dietitian from Regions Hospital.  I had a total blast and I would highly recommend atteding one of these FREE classes.  Yes, FREE.  (Cooking classes are usually $60+/session so this is a deal!!!)
  2. Twin Cities Live taping featuring Andrew Zimmern: A co-worker of mine won tickets to a live taping of Twin Cities live and offered up a ticket to go with.  PICK ME!  PICK ME!  Helloooooo……PICK ME!  And he did!  Well, he didn’t pick me, apparently I was the first to ask for the tickets.  Works for me.  The reason I was so excited about this, is because Andrew Zimmern was on the show and he is the face of yumPower.  I typically could care less about celebrities, but I love Andrew!  We spent the afternoon watching the live show and learning about producing a TV show from one of the directors.  It was just a really fun experience and something I was excited about.

So there you have it, a couple of the reasons I’m onboard the yumPower campaign.  Kudos to HealthPartners and the other sponsors of this fabulous campaign.  It’s incredible!

Want to learn more about yumpower?  Here are some resources:

My healthy food blogs: Caprese SaladPeach Salsa, and Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Toasted Pecans and Avocado

Leave a Reply

