Mixed berry sauce

What’s my inspiration?

Whenever I have leftover berries that are still good, but not fresh enough to eat plain, I simply toss them into a ziplock bag I keep in the freezer.  I then use them for smoothies in the summer.  I had a huge bag full of strawberries, blueberries, blackberries and raspberries.  They were taking up prime freezer real estate so I decided I better do something with them, especially since the warm months made for frozen smoothies has past.

I had stuff to make pancakes and whipped cream on hand, so I figured making a berry sauce would be my best option.  I used a very simple approach to this sauce and it was incredibly tasty!  This isn’t has healthy as eating fresh berries due to the sugar in the sauce, but it’s a fun weekend treat.

What you need:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 cups fresh or frozen berries (any kind you like!)
  • 1 tablespoon corn starch
  • 1 tablespoon water

What you do:

  • Put the sugar and water in the saucepan and bring to a boil.  Boil stirring frequently for 5 minutes.
  • Add berries to the sugar/water mixture and bring back to a boil.  Simmer, stirring frequently, in the pot for 10 minutes or until sauce starts to reduce and thicken.
  • Mix together corn starch and water in a small bowl, stir into berry mixture
  • Simmer for 5 more minutes, or until sauce is desired thickness.
  • Remove from heat and enjoy over pancakes, waffles, or even ice cream!
2 thoughts on “Mixed berry sauce

  1. I have frozen blueberries, and frozen mixed berries from Costco in the freezer, and this made a delicious sauce over Sturdiwheat pancakes (I took the easy way out). The only problem with this recipe….we ate all of it in one sitting. Delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

