Bedroom dresser gone wild!

Well “gone wild” is a bit of an exaggeration.  I mean the paint colors “Almond Brittle” andDresser After “Borough Brown” don’t exactly scream wild, risky or anything but plain and safe.  However, for a girl who was raised on the fact that you stain wood and NEVER paint wood, this project was a little “wild” for me.

I had this dresser in my bedroom when I was a little girl and all through high school (Mom – do you have any pics of this in my old teal sponge painted bedroom?  I would love a copy if you do!).  When we purchased our cabin last year, I refused to spend a ton of money on filling it up with furniture.  Free, cheep and creative were the name of the game.  So when my parents let me have my childhood dresser, I was thrilled!  It sat in our cabin bedroom for the last year begging for a face lift.  While I can be impulsive with some things, decorating my home is not one of them.  I like to make the right decisions on where my money goes because I know I can’t keep buying new things all the time.

I finally determined a sanding and fresh coat of paint was the way to go.  I still had all the original hardware so used that to help maintain some integrity of the piece.  It only took me one day to sand and re-paint the dresser.  How did it turn out?  I’m OBSESSED with it.  And to my friends, NO, I didn’t spray paint it.  I used an actually roller and real paint.  Below are before and after pics, let me know what you think!

Dresser Before

Dresser After

One thought on “Bedroom dresser gone wild!

Leave a Reply

