Banana bread french toast

Source: Melissa’s Kitchen

What’s my inspiration:

Wait for it…leftover banana bread! Yup.  I love banana bread but sometimes we can’t eat the entire loaf during the week.  I had some delicious banana bread on hand (no doubt due to the extra bananas I put in it, super moist!) and was contemplating if I could make it into anything else.  Then I had a rare moment of creative kitchen genius, I decided to make it into French Toast!  So away we went.  I can’t even tell you how yummy it was.  I was worried it would be way to sweet.  But oddly enough, the  egg/milk coating seemed to cut the sweetness a little bit.  It was delicious and easy.  So give this a try and you won’t be disappointed.  Heck, you could even try it with almond, lemon or apple bread too.  But I’m guessing banana is the best.  Enjoy!

What you need:

  • Thick slices of banana bread (try this recipe)
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Powdered Sugar
  • And obviously, coffee to go with it!

What you do:

  • Mix together eggs and milk (the amount of eggs/milk depends on how many serving you are making)
  • Generously coat banana bread in egg mixture
  • In hot skillet, fry banana bread until coating is crispy
  • Plate and sprinkle with light coating of powdered sugar and serve with coffee (or juice, if you aren’t a coffee lover)
One thought on “Banana bread french toast

Leave a Reply

