Shredded Pork Tacos

What’s my inspiration?

Burton

Ummm…Sam’s club?  Purchased my first membership this year and brought home a 8 pound boneless pork roast.  The sight of it cracked me up for some reason so I had to buy it.  I chopped that bad boy into 4 portions and froze them away for a major crock pot session as needed.  We love BBQ pulled pork sandwiches but how often can you really eat those?  Certainly not weekly.  So I was in the hunt for a new pork recipe, crock pot style.

I dreamed up this tasty version of shredded pork tacos (Yes, I’m sure it’s been done before).  But before you read on, consider this warning: serious chef’s only please.  This highly complex, time-consuming recipe is worth every minute.  You think I’m kidding?  Look, there are 3 major ingredients.  If that isn’t a top chef worthy meal, I don’t know what is ;-/  But in all seriousness, this turned out incredible for so few ingredients.  And it made a ton of leftovers.  Lunches for days…WOOT!!!!

P.S. I know this picture of my adorable french bulldog Burton doesn’t have anything to do with this post, but I don’t care.  Look how cute he is?!?!?

Tip: If you really aren’t a pork fan, just sub some chicken.

What you need:

  • Frozen Boneless Pork Roast (2-3 lbs)
  • 1 jar of your favorite salsa
  • Taco Seasoning to taste (about 1/4 – 1/3 cup)
  • Your best taco toppings

What you do (This is where it gets really challenging):

  • Rub pork roast with some of the taco seasoning
  • Place frozen pork roast in crock pot
  • Cover with salsa
  • Cook on low 6-8 hours or until roast pulls apart easily
  • Add additional taco seasoning to taste
  • Serve with flour tortillas, sour cream, shredded cheese, lettuce, and taco sauce (Or whatever other taco toppings you like!)
One thought on “Shredded Pork Tacos

Leave a Reply

