Second place puppy chow

Source: So Very Blessed…and a little crazy blog

Photo Credit: So Very Blessed

What’s my inspiration?

I much prefer a salty snack like cheese and crackers over sweet treats.  However, I do have a few weaknesses like anyone else.  The legit, real deal puppy chow is one of them.  You know the stuff, Chex mix with peanut butter, chocolate and powdered sugar?  I mean, total heaven in a bowl.  (Apparently Chex brand calls it Muddy Buddies, who knew.)

When I saw this recipe for Cake Batter Puppy Chow on Pinterest, I about fell out of my chair.  What is this I found…a new twist on the classic?  A must try recipe?  Yes!  I ended up making it for our annual Duluth ski/snowboarding trip.  I thought it would get *housed in a day.  Boy was I wrong. While this is good, it surely didn’t stand up to the classic.  But, it was an OK treat we nibbled on all weekend.

I would make this again but likely as a part of a puppy chow buffet.  Maybe with both versions – the classic blue ribbon puppy chow and this one, second place.  I am wondering if I might like it better if I used a chocolate cake mix instead of a yellow mix.  Maybe I’ll give that a whirl next time.  Even though it wasn’t my favorite, I thought it was a fun recipe regardless.

*housed: eating every last morsel of something really fast. (I have had people not know what I mean when I say housed.  Must be something our group of friends coined??)

What you need:
Makes 10 cups

  • 10 cups Chex cereal (About 1 box)
  • 20 oz (10 squares) vanilla flavored Almond Bark
  • 1 package yellow cake mix
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • vegetable shortening, optional
What you do:

  • Melt Almond Bark according to the package directions, adding vegetable shortening to thin if desired.
  • Pour the cereal, cake mix, and powdered sugar into a paper bag or container with a lid.
  • Drizzle melted Almond Bark over the cereal and fold down the top of the paper bag or put the lid on the container.
  • Shake bag or container until the cereal is evenly coated.
Leave a Reply

