Mixed Roasted Potatoes

What’s my inspiration?

Who doesn’t love potatos?  You can bake, fry, saute, mash, dice, hash, basically, do whatever the heck you want to them and they still rock.  My favorite?  A big ass bowl of mashed potatoes smothered with gravy or topped with sour cream & lots of pepper.  Yum.  But my favorite preparation of potatoes has nothing to do with this recipe.  

A while back, someone mentioned to me that they combine multiple types of potatos into 1 dish (I think it was my boss).  Anyhow, I did just that and it turned out incredibley.  It was pretty to look at and fun to eat (plus, nothing wrong with a little variety in your side dish).  Anyhow, give these babies a go and tell me what you think.  Easy-peasy, delish and nutrish.  Who knows, I might mash them all together next time.  

P.S. Wondering how I cut my potatoes so fancy like?  Waffle fry style?  A few years back, Chris got really excited at the MN Sate Fair and totally fell for the in-person “infomercial” when they were selling the the lovely orange slicing tool in my picture.  I thought we were watching the presentation & making fun of it thinking ‘who the heck falls for this stuff?”.  Before I knew it, Chris threw his hand in the air and screamed “I’ll take one!!!” And believe it or not, it was all for the low-low price of $29.99.  End of story.  Now I can make waffle fries…thanks honey. 

What you need:

  • 2 Idaho Potatoes
  • 2 Sweet Potatoes
  •  2-4 Red Potatoes (depending on size)
  • 1 large white or yellow onion
  • 2 teaspoons chopped garlic
  • EVOO
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Feta Cheese (Optional)

What you do:

  • Slice or dice potatoes (depending no how you like them best)
     
  • Slice Onion
  • Chop Garlic (Or you can just use the pre-chopped garlic in a jar)
  • Combine potatoes, onions and garlic in a tin foil pan
     
  • Drizzle with EVOO and season with salt and pepper
     
  • Cook on grill or in oven at 375 untill cooked through
  • If desired, sprinkle crumbled feta cheese on the top and serve (This sounds strange, but I experimented with it and it’s adds a unique, yummy flavor to the potatoes)
One thought on “Mixed Roasted Potatoes

  1. Sounds great, I am going to try them tonight. I never thought of this before, which is odd since I LOVE potatoes. Thanks for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

