White Chicken Enchiladas

What’s my inspiration?
For a couple of summers after high school, I worked as a waitress in the most fantastic Mexican restaurant around, Fiesta Mexicana in Red Wing, Minnesota.  This place has  authentic Mexican food, not that overly Americanized Mexican food.  Everything on their menu is truly delicious.  However, there is one dish that is one of my most favorite foods ever.  Yes, EVER.  It’s the #19, La Fiesta Enchiladas made with corn tortillas filled with shredded chicken and Monterey jack cheese, smothered in a creamy white sauce and served with traditional rice and beans.
 
 
I have searched high and low for a similar dish at many Mexican restaurants around town with no luck.  I have also scoured the web searching for a recipe that would do justice and I could make at home.  Nothing.  For years, I have only enjoyed these enchiladas when I was in Red Wing visiting my parents.  That is until I found this little gem of a recipe compliments of Joyful Mamma’s Kitchen Blog (THANK YOU!).  I about fell out of my chair when I tried a bite of these.  They are very similar to the La Fiesta Enchiladas from Fiesta Mexicana.  Ahh, heaven in my mouth 🙂
 
 
While this will be another new staple to the Aune family weekday dinners, it’s still 2nd to the real deal at Fiesta Mexicana.  (Mostly because I will never be able to compete with the rice and beans served on the side and the adorable atmosphere).  But, I’ll take this recipe anyhow.  Enjoy!
 
 
P.S. I have no pictures of this dish.  I was so excited to eat it, I spaced and totally forgot to snap a few.  I’ll try to get a picture next time I make them.
 
 
Tips:
  • I pre-cook the chicken and shred it on the weekends.  That way, I can quickly make this dish during the week without too much effort.
  • Use either white or yellow corn tortillas, it’s WAY better!
  • It’s tasty served with a little sour cream on the side and even a little Sriracha.
What you need
  • 10 soft taco shells
  • 2 cups cooked, shredded chicken
  • 2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 3 Tbsp. flour
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 (4 oz) can diced green chillies (you could use jalapeno if you like a little heat)
What you do:
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Grease a 9×13 pan
  • If you are using corn tortillas, heat them up in the microwave for 30 seconds with a wet paper towel over them.  This will soften them up and make them easier to work with.)
  • Add a little chicken and a little cheese into each tortilla.  Roll up and place in pan.  (Use only about 1 cup of the cheese for this, save the other cup for later.)
  • In a sauce pan, melt butter, stir in flour and cook 1 minute.  Add broth and whisk until smooth.  Heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly.
  • Stir in sour cream and chilies.  Do not bring to boil, or you will get curdled sour cream.
  • Pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.
  • Bake 22 min and then under high broil for 3 min to brown the cheese.
Leave a Reply

