Taco Stuffed Shells

What’s my inspiration?

Yes, these are on a paper plate 🙂


I was in the mood for both mexican and italian so this recipe seemed it would satisfy both cravings.  Once again, I found it on Pinterest, my new obsession.  I thought it would be good based on the ingredients, but I had no idea it would be a new favorite.  I can’t even begin to explain how YUMMY this dish is!  Taco meat is delicious alone but with cream cheese, I mean come on.  Then, you stuff the mixture into pasta shells put them over a bed of salsa and smother with taco sauce and cheese?!?  I’m getting hungry for them just typing this and I had them last night.  I anticipate these to be a new staple in our home.  I wonder what new word I could make up to categories this dish….Italican? Mexilian?  Both sound fun 🙂  Also, I bet you could make this dish ahead of time and bring them to potlucks, etc.  Regardless, they are a fun and unique option for many occasions.  Enjoy!

Tips:

  • Pasta Shells: When cooking these, under-cook them so they are still al dente.  About 6-7 minutes.  They continue to cook in the oven and will become more tender.
  • Cheese: You can use almost any kind of shredded cheese – cheddar, Colby jack, mexican, etc.

What you need:

  • 1 lb. ground beef
  • 1 package taco seasoning
  • 4 oz. cream cheese
  • 1 box jumbo pasta shells
  • 1.5 cup salsa
  • 1 cup taco sauce
  • 1 bad cheddar jack cheese (2 cups total)
  • 3 green onions
  • Sour cream

What you do:

  • Preheat oven to 350°.
  • In a frying pan cook ground beef; add taco seasoning and prepare according to package directions.  Add cream cheese, cover and simmer until cheese is melted. Blend well. Set aside and cool completely.
  • While ground beef is cooking, cook the pasta shells according to directions; drain and rinse with cold water. Set shells out individually on cutting board/baking sheet so that they don’t stick together.
  • Pour salsa on bottom of 9×13 baking dish.
  • Stuff each shell with the meat mixture. Place shells in 9×13 pan open side up. 
  • Cover shells with taco sauce.
  • Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes.
  • After 30 minutes, add shredded cheese and bake for 10-15 more minutes, with the foil removed.
  • Top with any condiments you’d like (green onions, black olives, etc.)
  • Serve with sour cream and/or more salsa.
Leave a Reply

