GET OUT of the lake DOCK!!

OK, my choice of title might be a bit dramatic.  But that is how I felt when fall approached and I knew we needed to somehow get the dock out of the lake at the cabin for our first time.  Embarrassingly, we actually considered paying someone to do it so we didn’t have to deal with it.  I have heard nothing but nightmare stories about taking docks out.  And to top it off, my husbands friends had him convinced back in May that he NEEDED a 4 wheeler to do it (like a 4 wheel drive Explorer won’t work?!?).  Sorry, not going to happen honey.

I was so worried about it, we actually took an entire day off work to deal with it.  We didn’t take the day off because we thought it would take that long, it was because we didn’t want to look like idiots in front of our seasoned dock removing neighbors.  Heaven forbid we look stupid doing something…again (watch for the “patio” story to come at a later date).

Luckily, the day was gorgeous.  Sixty & sunny in October makes for a great day to be filled with hard manual labor right?  Yup.  I watched my lovely husband haul board after board from the dock to the garage.

I offered to help but he said he was good.  Deep down, I knew he would say no to my offer to help which is partially why I asked 🙂  Can’t say I didn’t try.  Plus, it isn’t like I was doing nothing, I painted the entire bedroom (actually, I re-painted the entire bedroom because I hated the first color I choose).

Before I knew it, he actually needed my help and I got to do the fun part.  I got to drive my truck down to the dock on the grass (Yes, FUN!) and hook it up to my truck.

Then, I got to pull it out of the water!  I’m not going to lie, this was a total blast and I’m pretty sure I looked like I knew what I was doing.

We only had minor collateral damage from the dock removal – we ripped up a long strip of the grass.

But there was no love lost there since it was mostly dead crab grass and creeping charlie.  But Chris is working on that too.  Next year, I foresee green grass and no fear when removing the dock.

Me & the Dock

One thought on “GET OUT of the lake DOCK!!

  1. Pingback: Brand spankin’ new dock panels « Twincitieschick's Blog

Leave a Reply

