Pulling landscaping duty…

I have officially completed my first ever landscaping project.  And as usual with my projects, it took me about 5 times longer than expected.  I clearly have a severe lack of judgement when it comes to estimating how long it will take me to complete a home project.  So instead of spending Saturday morning on my landscaping project, and Saturday afternoon on my patio with a Margarita, I spend 8 hours lifting rock, washing rock and planting.

Before

After

This project was something cheap that I was able to knock out and bring a little curb appeal to the property.  There was existing landscaping around the trees, but it was covered in pine needles and obviously hadn’t been touched in years.  I had as much fun as possible working hard with the tunes blasting  away in the nearby garage.  Two neighbors stopped by to chat and check out my work too which was nice.  I totally love talking with new people when I am a sweaty, dirty mess [insert sarcasm].  I did not look like those ladies who garden on made for TV movies with make up done, a cute sun dress on and manicured fingers.  Anyhow…

Why did it take so long?  For some reason, I thought there was one or two small layers of rock on top of the dirt. Nope.  There was a good 6-8 layers of rock with the bottom 3-4 layers buried in hard back dirt.  There were tons of ant nests too wich had me batting ants of my hands non stop.  Ick!  The good thing was that once the rock was pulled out and washed off, it looked brand new and amazing.

Remove Rocks

Wash Rocks

From there, I used some bricks my husband found under the deck to make an outline in the area. Apparently they were from the old Smith Avenue high bridge in St. Paul and seemed to have names of people who I can only assume, sponsored the bridge when it was built.

From there, I planted 3 tiger lily plants for some color and hauled all the existing rock back in.  Big thanks to my husband who helped me put the rock back.  I was exhausted by this point and beyond sore (worse that Bikram yoga)!  For the final touches, I poured in the mulch my mom gave me, hung a bird feeder from my grandparents and I was done!

Plant Flowers

Lay brick

After all the hard work, I loved this project.  The best part was the whole thing only cost me $9 for the 3 plants!  How thrifty am I?!

Bird Feeder

Project Cost: $9

  • Rock: Free since it was there to start
  • 3 Tiger Lilly Plants: $9 at Walmart
  • Cedar Mulch: Free from my mom
  • Brick: Free from under the deck 🙂
  • Bird Feeder: Free from my grandparents (SUPER cute & hand-made from Florida!)
One thought on “Pulling landscaping duty…

  1. Lots of work, but it certainly looks nice! Let me know when you want more day lilies, I have some growing for you.

Leave a Reply

