Seafood Jambalaya Over Rice

Source: Melissa’s Kitchen

What’s my inspiration:
It’s no secret that my husband and I love seafood.  I will eat it any way I can get it and Jambalaya is one of my personal favorites.   You can make it with any combination of seafood you like and add as much spice as you want.  And, I can make this meal using only 1 dish…SCORE!  Less clean up only adds to the joy of cooking.

I have made Jambalaya several times before.  Each time was good, but something was missing and it wasn’t quite right.  The recipes I used in the past had you cook the rice in with all the other ingredients.  It tasted great for the first serving, but by the time you went back for 2nds, the rice had absorbed way to much water and was a nasty, mushy mess.  This time around, I cooked the rice separately and served it with the Jambalaya. I can’t take full credit for this.  It was actually my husbands idea to make it this way.  So, we Googled a couple different recipes and ended up combining  a few ideas and creating our own Minnesota made Jambalaya.  It was A-MAZING!!!  As per usual, I made way too much for 2 people so next time around I’ll use 1/2 as much stuff or just have people over.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

cornbread

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 andouille sausage links (raw & meat removed from casing)
  • 1 yellow onion (diced)
  • 1 tablespoon garlic (diced)
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (or to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons Creole seasoning (or to taste)
  • ½ teaspoon cayenne (omit if you don’t like much spice)
  • Black pepper to taste
  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • 1 green bell pepper (diced)
  • 1 red bell pepper (diced)
  • 2 – 16oz cans diced tomatoes
  • 2 – 16 oz cans water
  • 2 – 16 oz cans light red beans
  • 1 – 16 oz can corn
  • 15-20 raw jumbo shrimp (remove tail)
  • 1 pound dense fish (catfish, halibut, swordfish, etc)
  • 1 pound mussels (omit if you don’t like)
  • 4 cups rice (uncooked)

Tips:

  • When feeding only 2 people, just reduce the amount of andouille, seafood and rice by ½.
  • Rice: I use instant brown rice.  The brown rice seems to hold its texture a little better than white rice.  But if you don’t like brown rice, just use white.

What you do:

  • Heat vegetable oil heated in large cast iron pot
  • Add onion, garlic, and sausage – sauté for about 3 minutes
  • Add Worcestershire, Creole, Cayenne (if desired), pepper and tomato paste – mix until combined
  • Add all peppers
  • Sauté all ingredients until onions and peppers are just softened (About 5-7 minutes)
  • Add tomatoes and 2 -16 oz cans of water
  • Let it come to a boil, then add beans and corn
  • Bring back to a boil – taste and add additional spices if needed
  • Add shrimp and fish – simmer for 15 minutes
  • Add mussels – simmer for 5 minutes or until mussels open
  • Serve over rice
4 thoughts on “Seafood Jambalaya Over Rice

  1. I used your delicious recipe. I altered it by using a smoked crab bisque as the tomato and water part. holy shit it was good

Leave a Reply

