Corn Bread with a twist – Jalapeños and Monterey Jack Cheese!

Source: Melissa’s Kitchen

What’s my inspiration?

I love cornbread and usually use a pre-made mix.  Tonight, I decided to make the corn bread from scratch.  When I cook, I try to always ask myself, what else can I add to make this better?  This time, I realized I had some leftover jalapenos and Monterey Jack cheese in the fridge.  I hate wasting food so I figured I’d give something a try – why not toss the jalapeños and cheese into the batter and see what happens?  I mean, what is the worst thing that can happen? It tastes like crap and I throw it away.  It was only a side dish to my Stuffed Peppers, so no big deal if it didn’t turn out.  Anyhow, they ended up turning out great and I can’t wait to make them again.  The cheese was mild enough to make the corn bread moist and a little gooey, and the jarred jalapeños gave the bread just a little kick.  They were delicious.  Enjoy!

What you need:

  • 1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • ¾ cup enriched corn meal
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1-cup skim milk
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tablespoon diced jalapeños
  • ½ cup shredded Monterey Jack Cheese (or any other kind of cheese you like)

Tips:

  • You can substitute 2 egg whites for 1 whole egg
  • Trying to cut out sodium?  Eliminate the salt.
  • Don’t have Monterey Jack Choose?  No problem!  Use whatever you have on hand – cheddar, swiss, etc.
  • Jalapeños: The jarred ones work best.  They are pre-chopped and not nearly as spicy as fresh ones.

What you do:

  • Heat oven to 400 degrees
  • Grease bread pan (you can also use a s8” pan, 9” pan or muffin tins)
  • Combine dry ingredients
  • Stir in milk, oil, egg, jalapeños and cheese until all ingredients combined and moist
  • Pour batter into prepared pan
  • Bake 20-30 minutes or until golden brown on top and toothpick inserted into center comes out clean
  • Serve warm with butter
Leave a Reply

