Cheddar Gougères – Recipe FAIL!

Recipe by Veronica Pedraza
Source:
Food & Wine Magazine – January, 2011

***Recipe FAIL***

What’s my inspiration?

I plan to make at least 1 recipe out of each Food and Wine magazine I receive in 2011.  Without going back and double-checking, I think I made at least 12-15 in 2010 but not sure I made something out of each month.  This recipe was an easy first choice. I was looking for a side dish to compliment the Texas style Chili with beer (also from Food & Wine Magazine) that I love so much.

These Cheddar Gougères were SUPER fast to make.  It only took me about 12 minutes to prepare the dough and get them into the oven.  Doesn’t get much faster than that!  I put them into the oven for the suggested 28 minutes.  About 1/2 way through, Chris looked at them and said, “I think these look done”.  I assured him, they were not since the 28 minutes hadn’t passed and that is what the recipe said.  Whenever I bake, I follow the recipe exactly so I don’t screw it up.  As the time went off, I shuffled over to the oven, opened the door and the smoke cam billowing out.  As if that wasn’t enough, the smoke alarm went off and I hear “I told you so” in my head (although my husband didn’t actually say it out loud).  On the surface, they looked OK, but the bottoms were burnt to a crisp.  I tore off the tops because I refused to admit they were totally ruined.  The tops tasted OK, but nothing special.  Certainly not worthy of attempting them again.  Obviously, the first new recipe of 2011 wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for.  In fact, it was a total train wreck.  I surely hope this isn’t a sign of how my cooking adventures will go in this New Year!

Tips:

  • Just don’t make these – they were a hot mess.
  • What the heck is a “Gougère”?  I didn’t know either, so learn more here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gougère
  • Even though the dough looks like a tiny amount, it actually made 24 of them (even though they were burnt)!
  • Lesson Learned: Keep a close eye on everything you cook.  The cook times and oven temps may be off in the recipes.

What you need:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar

What you do:

  • Preheat the oven to 425° and position racks in the upper and middle thirds. Lightly butter 2 large baking sheets. In a large saucepan, combine the butter, water and salt and bring to a boil. Remove from the heat. Add the flour and whisk until smooth. Let cool slightly, then, using an electric mixer at medium speed, beat in the eggs 1 at a time, beating thoroughly between additions. Beat in all but 2 tablespoons of the cheese.

    Butter, Water & Salt

    Dough

  • Using a 1-tablespoon ice cream scoop, scoop level mounds of the dough onto the baking sheets, 1 1/2 inches apart. Sprinkle with the remaining 2 tablespoons of cheese and bake for 28 minutes, until golden and risen; shift the pans from top to bottom and front to back halfway through baking.
  • Lower the oven temperature to 400°. Pierce each gougère near the bottom with a skewer and return the pans to the oven. Bake for about 8 minutes longer, until crisp and deeply golden. Transfer the gougères to racks to cool. Serve the gougères warm or at room temperature.

    They look OK from the top!

    Burnt Bottoms

One thought on “Cheddar Gougères – Recipe FAIL!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Cheddar Gougères – Recipe FAIL! « Twincitieschick's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

