Shrimp Penne Pasta with Creamy Vodka Sauce

Source: Melissa’s Kitchen
Quick & Easy!

What’s my inspiration?
Pasta isn’t something I ever order when we go out to eat.  It isn’t because I don’t like it, because I do.  I just feel like I can make the dish just as easy at home, and for way less money.  Why would I pay $12-15/plate, when I can make the same dish for way less?  I have been experimenting with different pastas and this is one of my favorites so far.  It is a great week night dinner since it is quick and easy.  Enjoy!

What you need:

  • 1 lb medium raw shrimp (remove shells)
  • ½ box penne pasta
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • ½ jar Vodka Pasta Sauce
  • ½ jar Marinara Pasta Sauce
  • EVOO
  • Salt & Pepper

Tips:

  • Don’t like peas?  Skip them.
  • I use whole wheat penne noodles since it’s better for you.  But you can use white penne noodles too.
  • You could add in mushrooms, peppers or onion if you want too!

What you do:

  • Cook pasta according to package directions.  During the last minute of cook time, add frozen peas.  Drain water and set pasta & peas aside.
  • While pasta is cooking, drizzle sauté pan with EVOO.
  • Season raw shrimp with salt & pepper.
  • Cook shrimp on medium heat in sauté pan until fully cooked – about 2-3 minutes/side depending on size of shrimp.  They will be pink when done. Set aside.
  • In clean sauté pan, add sauce, cooked pasta and shrimp.  Heat until warm.
  • Serve in bowls and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese if desired.
Leave a Reply

