If it’s broke…FIX it! Sewing Machines & GHD Flatirons

I grew up with a dad who is very handy; he can seriously fix or build anything.  He builds cabinets, fixes cars, puts in sprinkler systems, installs heated floors, and if he doesn’t know how to do it, he figures it out.  I call him anytime I have a question about anything I don’t know about – garbage the disposal, sheet rock holes, plumbing issues and more.  Most recently, my sewing machine was broken and wouldn’t you know it, he also used to repair sewing machines when he and my mom owned a fabric store!  I tried to fix the machine over the phone with my dad’s coaching, but I just couldn’t figure it out.  I brought it down to Red Wing so he could help fix it.  After much tinkering around, he figured out that the cord to the foot pedal was broken and needed to be replaced.  I watched as he showed me how to replace the cord.  I had no idea something that seems so complex could be relatively easy.  As I watched him fix it, I remembered I had a $240.00 broken GHD flatiron at home.  It seemed, that the reason the sewing machine wasn’t working, could be the same reason my flatiron wasn’t working.  He encouraged me to try to fix it, so I did!

I got home that day and proceeded to immediately take apart my entire flatiron piece by piece just to find out the inside was totally different from the inside of the sewing machine foot pedal.  My husband watched as I tinkered with it for about an hour.  Finally, I googled the problem and found a fantastic website, http://www.ghd-repair.co.uk/SS2.html.  I quickly realized I didn’t need to tear the whole thing apart.  So, I put it back together and started over.

First things first.  I needed to order a cord compatible with the flatiron.  I used my best Boolean search strings to find a U.S. based website that sold cords compatible with GHD flatirons and came up with nothing.  All I could find was a UK-based website, where I had to pay for the power cord which was priced in pounds.  I used a conversion calculator to find out how much £7.95 was in dollars.  It ended up being $12.38 plus tax, shipping, etc.  In total, only about $17 for the cord.  I was very nervous ordering something from an international website, but 5 days later, the cord arrived in the mail.  Good thing, it looked like the right cord.  Bad thing, it had a European plug.  At that point, I drove up to the Ace Hardware 3 blocks away and purchased a power cord adapter kit.

When I got home, I pulled up a YouTube video I found and followed the step by step directions on how to replace the cord.  Clearly, I am not the first person to do this; there are over 23,000 hits on this video.  After I finished installing the new cord, it was the moment of truth.  I plugged the hair straightener into the wall and…it WORKED! Satisfaction and excitement all rolled into one.  I immediately called my dad to let him know I fixed it, and then proceeded to straighten my hair.

So, next time you have something break, don’t immediately throw it away or buy a new one.  Ask you handy dad like I did or Google it and try to fix it yourself!  It cost me about $30 in total to fix it, but to buy this same flatiron again would cost $240.  I saved money and learned something new!

3 thoughts on “If it’s broke…FIX it! Sewing Machines & GHD Flatirons

  1. My question is in regard to the ghd you fixed (Great job). I was wondering if it was a us ghd? I’ve been looking for a replacement power cord for a ghd classic us 3.2. Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

