Red Velvet Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Source: Paula’s Home Cooking / Foodnetwork.com

What’s my inspiration?

I have heard that Red Velvet Cakes are a challenge to make.  Mostly, the challenge is in terms of getting them to turn out red and not maroon or pink.  I took this as a challenge and found myself determined to make a RED – Red Velvet Cupcake.  I found Paula Dean’s recipe on the Food Network Website and thought I would give it a try. They turned out an amazing red color and were some of the tastiest cupcakes I have had.  The cake itself had just enough cocoa powder to give hint of chocolate flavor and the frosting is to die for.  I made a couple tweaks to the recipe as noted below, but I would definitely make these again!  I think I am going to try them in cake pop form next time around.

Tips:

  • I used only 1 tablespoon of red food color.  2 seemed excessive.
  • The frosting yielded WAY too much.  I would cut in ½ next time, or plan to use in an additional batch. I plan to use my excess in cake pops!

What you need:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1-teaspoon baking soda
  • 1-teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 1-cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring (I only used 1 tablespoon)
  • 1-teaspoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1-teaspoon vanilla extract
  • For the Cream Cheese Frosting:
  • 1 pound cream cheese, softened
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1-teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar

What you do:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers.
  • In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder.
  • In a large bowl gently beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer.
  • Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.
  • Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled.
  • Bake in oven for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pans once, half way through. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting.
  • I sprinkled some red sugar on mine to add a little color.  You could also try some nuts or chocolate powder.

For the Cream Cheese Frosting:

  • In a large mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, butter and vanilla together until smooth.
  • Add the sugar and on low speed, beat until incorporated. Increase the speed to high and mix until very light and fluffy.
Leave a Reply

