White Chicken Chili

What’s my inspiration?

And as the weather gets colder and the brown fall grass is now covered with a layer of white snow, it seems like a bowl of comforting soup has been on my mind.  Like usual, I was on a kick to try something new so I decided to try a twist on an old classic, chili!

Since I love using my crock-pot for roasts & dips, I figured why not it for soup?   This recipe was adopted from my Betty Crocker cook book and it’s not only tasty, it’s also quite healthy.  I cooked this on high in the crock-pot for 5 hours, but If I make it again, I would go with the low and slow method.  Seemed that the soup developed more in flavor and texture the longer it cooked.  This recipe provided tons of leftovers and I have to say, the soup was almost better re-heated the 2nd day!  Serve with some bread and you have yourself a great meal, lunch or dinner!

What you need:

  • 3 – 15oz cans Great Northern Beans (can sub Pinto beans)
  • 2 ½ cups shredded cooked chicken
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 chopped green pepper
  • 1 chopped red pepper
  • 2 fresh jalapeño peppers – seeded and diced
  • 2 tablespoons garlic (fresh or jarred)
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • 3 ½ cups chicken broth
  • Shredded Monterey Jack Cheese (for topping)
  • Chips – tortilla (for serving)

What you do:

  • Cook chicken – let cool and shred. (Works great to boil the chicken.  It shreds very easily after cooked this way.)
  • In 4-quart crock-pot, combine drained beans, chicken, onion, peppers, jalapeño, garlic, cumin, salt and oregano.  Stir in chicken broth
  • Cover and cook 8-10 hour on low or 4-5 hours on high (I recommend cooking on low so the soup has time to develop)
  • Top with Monterey Jack cheese and serve with chips


One thought on “White Chicken Chili

  1. Looks so good. I tried a white chicken chili recipe once, but it didn’t have the red or green peppers. That extra color would look nice, as well as taste better. Now I will have to try it again.

Leave a Reply

