Swedish Meatballs

What’s my inspiration?

Last week, my employer had an ethnic foods potluck in honor of October being Diversity awareness month. It was a total blast and I was able to sample everything from Lefsa to Jambalaya and even Paella! It was a great way for everyone to eat some new things that they may not otherwise try.

Being that I am Swedish, I wanted to bring something that came from my heritage. I choose to bring some Swedish Meatballs and they seemed to be a hit. There are many ways to make Swedish Meatballs, but below is the recipe I used. I would definitely make these again and serve them with some egg noodles or rice. This particular day, I served them alone as an appetizer.

Tips:
• You can make these ahead of time! Just cook the meatballs and then freeze them in a single layer. When you are ready to serve, put the frozen meatballs into the crock pot with sauce and heat until done.
• I typically make a double batch. I freeze them into dinner sized portions and use them in my favorite dishes (spaghetti, meatball sandwiches, etc.)

What you need:
For the Meatballs:
• 1 lb. ground hamburger
• 1 lb. ground pork
• 2 eggs
• ½ cup diced onion
• ½ cup bread crumbs
• 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
• 2 tbsp. milk
• 1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
• 1 tsp chopped garlic
• ¼ cup ketchup
• Salt, pepper, garlic powder to taste

For the Sauce:
• ½ cup evaporated milk
• 2 cans cream of mushroom soup

What you do:
• Mix all meatball ingredients
• Form small 1 inch round meatballs
• Bake on 350 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes (I use a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper)
• Drain off grease
• Put meat balls into crock pot
• Add 2 cans cream of mushroom soup and ½ cup evaporated milk
• Heat thoroughly
• Serve alone or over rice or noodles.

Leave a Reply

