Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Baked Pie

The St. Paul Farmers Market is close to our home and almost in full swing mode.  My husband and I walked up there this past weekend, coffee in hand, to see what was available.  We found some great rhubarb and fresh strawberries.  I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to make with it, but after some thought, the logical choice was pie.  I didn’t have a great recipe for a Strawberry Rhubarb pie, so I combined a couple other recipes I had and crossed my fingers. I did cheat and used pre-made pie crust (gasp!) this time around, but I can’t spend all my time in the kitchen!  It ended up turning out great and was way better than I expected.  Serve this with some vanilla ice cream and you are assured to impress. Enjoy!

What you need:

Pie Crust pre-oven

  • 1 Pie Crust (from scratch or pre-made)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 cups fresh rhubarb – diced
  • 3 cups fresh strawberries – diced
  • 1 recipe crumb topping

Crumb Topping:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • Using a pastry blender or fork, combine mixture until mixture is course crumbles

What to do:

Pre-Baked Pie

  • Heat oven to 375
  • Line 9 inch pie plate with crust – trim or fork edge if desired
  • Prepare crumb topping and set aside
  • Stir together sugar, flour and cinnamon
  • Add rhubarb and strawberries and toss until fully coated
  • Put fruit filling into pie crust
  • Put crumb topping over the filling
  • Cover edges with tin foil to prevent over browning on the edges
  • Bake in oven for 25 minutes
  • Remove foil
  • Continue baking for 20-30 minutes or until filing is bubbling and topping is golden brown
  • Cool on wire rack
One thought on “Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. This looks delicious (you know I have a sweet tooth). Only problem if I made it–we would eat the whole pie at one sitting!

Leave a Reply

