Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken Breasts

What’s the inspiration?

Photo Credit: Buca di Beppo

My husband and I love going out to eat.  What’s not to love when you have good company, a fun atmosphere and the excitement of trying a new food adventure, or an old favorite standby?  Additionally, one of my new hobbies is attempting to re-create portions of the meal from our restaurant adventures. I am defiantly not a trained chef, and I don’t claim to have a great pallet. However, you can pick up clues from the menu and even ask the waitress who may give you ingredients in the dish!  These will help you re-create a dish at home!

This particular evening, we were in the mood for a comforting meal in a warm cozy atmosphere.  We ended up at Buca de Beppo in St. Paul, which is an amazing Itialian restaurant that serves family style portions.  We have been to Buca’s for several family occasions and even grooms’ dinners.  Each time as good as the last.  Believe it or not, despite being a family style restaurant, you can go here with 2 people!  You just don’t get to order as many items off the menu, which is half the fun. CA (aka my husband) and I split an amazing Prosciutto Stuffed Mushroom appetizer followed by Prosciutto stuffed chicken breast with spaghetti.  Both just fantastic.  The mushrooms melted in your mouth and left you wanting more.  The Prosciutto stuffed chicken was tender & juicy with the crunch of baked breading on the outside.  In the middle was the salty taste of the Prosciutto combined with mozzarella.  Very yummy when paired with a great glass of wine.

I left the restaurant that night inspired by this meal and did re-create it in my own kitchen.  I left out a few things when I re-created it.  Buca’s stuffed chicken was on a bed of pesto cream sauce.  I’m not one who is totally in love with pesto, so I choose to leave that portion out.  I was left with a perfectly acceptable Prosciutto stuffed chicken that we can enjoy at home, any night of the week.

What you need:

  • 4 Large Chicken Breasts
  • 4 Pieces Prosciutto
  • 1 bag shredded Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 cup Breadcrumbs (See my homemade breadcrumb recipe, Simple Tip #1)
  • 1 Egg
  • Flour
  • Salt
  • Pepper

What you do:

  • Heat oven to 350
  • Pound chicken out & season with salt & pepper.
  • Place 1 piece Prosciutto & some mozzarella cheese on chicken
  • Roll up chicken and secure with toothpicks.
  • Bread chicken by coating in flour, egg then bread crumbs
  • Lightly grease baking dish and cook chicken for 20-30 minutes until done in the middle
  • Serve with Spaghetti & Sauce
4 thoughts on “Prosciutto Stuffed Chicken Breasts

  1. Pingback: Twincitieschick: 2010 in review « Twincitieschick's Blog

  2. I made this recipe just from my friend having it for lunch on Friday, it turned out very good and we loved it. Thanks Bucca, can’t wait to try another dish of yours.

Leave a Reply

